UCC well represented on Sigerson team of the Year


Comhairle Ardoideachais and Independent.ie  announced the HE GAA Independent.ie Rising Stars Teamsof the 2015  Independent.ie Higher Education Championships yesterday.

After two memorable weekends in Munster hosted by University College Cork and Limerick IT, DCU eventually came out on top after extra-time against the hosts and holders UCC in the Independent.ie Sigerson Cup final while it took a replay for UL to overcome reigning champions WIT in the Independent.ie Fitzgibbon Cup.

The Garda College,  Ulster University Magee & Mater Dei also claimed Independent.ie Football Championships while Trinity College, Galway/Roscommon ETB & John Moores University (Liverpool) were successful in the Independent.ie Senior Hurling competitions.

Both of the premier competition champions are well represented on their respective teams (DCU(6), UL(7)), while losing finalists UCC(5) and WIT (5) also make a significant contribution. In terms of counties, Roscommon and Kerry both have the most representatives on the football team (3 each) while in the hurling Tipperary lead the way with five selections, the most of any county.

Ger Keville, Sports Editor, Independent.ie praised those selected. “We are delighted to be sponsors of the Higher Education GAA Championships, competitions that epitomises everything great about the GAA. We have a very strong GAA tradition in the Independent and with the growth of Independent.ie, which is now Ireland’s biggest online source of sports news, we look forward to bringing you more top coverage that reflects the high standards of the Higher Education Championships,. The young stars who participate are the very players that will grace the Croke Park pitch on All Ireland Final days and we are privileged to be part of that, and on that note we congratulate all the winners of the Independent.ie Rising Stars awards as well as every one of the players who took part in the Higher Education Championships,​ this year.”

Those selected will be honoured at a function on the evening of Tuesday April 28th in Croke Park



HE GAA Independent.ie

Rising Stars Football Team2015


1.Tadhg Lowe           (DCU/Roscommon)

2. David Byrne         (UCD/Dublin)

3.Jack McGuire        (UCC/Kerry)

4. David Culhane     (UCC/Kerry)

5. Colm Begley           (DCU/Laois)

6 Conor Moynagh      (DCU/Cavan)

7. Tom Clancy             (UCC/Cork)

8.Steven O’Brien         (DCU/Tipperary)

9.Brendan Murphy     (IT Carlow/Carlow)

10.Niall Kelly               (UCD / Kildare)

11.Luke Connolly        (UCC/Cork )

12.Mickey Quinn        (DCU/Longford)

  1. Colin Compton       (Garda/Roscommon)

14.Conor Cox                (UCC/Kerry)

  1. Enda Smith             (DCU/Roscommon)



HE GAA Independent.ie

 Rising Stars Hurling Team2015


  1. Paul Maher                                    (UL/Tipperary)

2.Brian Stapleton                (UL/Tipperary)

  1. Brian Troy                         (UL/Kilkenny)

4. Tom Fox                            (WIT/Tipperary)

  1. Martin O’Neill                   (WIT/Waterford)

6.David McInerney                          (UL/Clare)

7.Cian Buckley                     (Cork IT/ Cork)

8. Danny Sutcliffe                (Trinity/Dublin)

9. Tony Kelly                        (UL /Clare)

10.Jason Forde                     (UL/Tipperary)

11.Pauric Mahony                 (WIT/Waterford)

12.Tommy Heffernan         (UL/Tipperary)

13.Gavin O’Brien                   (WIT/Waterford)

14.Austin Gleeson                           (WIT/Waterford)

15.David Reidy                      (LIT/Clare)



Independent.ie Rising Stars FootballBreakdown

DCU (6)                                                                                    Kerry, Roscommon (3 each)

UCC (5)                                                                                    Cork (2)

UCD (2)                                                                       Kildare, Longford, Dublin, Carlow, Laois, Cavan,

Garda, IT Carlow  (1 each)                                       Tipperary (1 each)


Independent.ie Rising Stars Hurling  Breakdown


UL (7)                                                                          Tipperary (5)                                                 

WIT (5)                                                                        Waterford (4)

Trinity, LlT, Cork IT  (1 each)                                    Clare (3)

Dublin,Cork, Kilkenny (1 each)