UCC Men & Women’s Senior 2-‘s Champions of Ireland !

Last weekend brought UCC’s 2015 rowing season to a close, with two senior championship wins.

On Friday Aifric Keogh & Barbara O’ Brien stormed to victory in the Women’s Senior 2-, 12 seconds ahead of Trinity in 2nd place.

The Women’s Senior 4- of Barbara O’ Brien, Aifric Keogh, Deirdre O’ Sullivan with Marie O’ Neill from Cork BC raced well but were beaten by 3.7s by Trinity who opened an early lead in the race which UCC couldn’t ever quite claw back.

The Women’s Inter 2- of Linda Murphy & Clodagh Scannell came in 3rd place, a result which the girls will be sure to build on next season.

The Men’s Senior 4- of David O’ Leary, Sean O’ Sullivan, Andy Harrington & Stephen O’ Connor came 3rd behind season long rivals NUIG/Grainne Mhaol and a strong Commercial crew.

Saturday morning brought the club’s second championship win, with Andy Harrington & David O’ Leary winning the Men’s Senior 2- in style by a 7s margin over NUIG. This win made history as UCC’s first senior crew boat championship win and the first senior win from a club in Cork City !

Jack Casey & Deirdre O’ Sullivan competed in Men’s Inter 1x and Women’s Club 1x respectively , both having heats and semi finals. Jack and Deirdre both made their finals in immensely challenging gusty conditions. Jack finished 6th overall out of a field of 27 scullers, with Deirdre finishing 4th out of 25.

The weekend ended with the Men and Women’s Senior 8+’s on Sunday evening. The Women’s 8+, a UCC/Skibbereen composite (Barbara O’ Brien, Aifric Keogh, Natalie Long, Shelley Dineen, Bernadette Walsh, Deirdre O’ Sullivan, Niamh O’ Mahony, Orla Hayes) had a fantastic race against two highly established Dublin boats, finishing second behind UCD by a length and beating out Trinity to 3rd place.

The Men’s 8+ (David O’ Leary, Sean O’ Sullivan, Stephen O’ Connor, Brian & David Keohane, Andy Harrington, Tomas Power, Alex O’ Riordan) finished 4th with Trinity winning out.

Well done to all crews who represented UCC fantastically , here’s to next season !

Barbara & Aifric , W Snr 2- Champions of Ireland.


David & Andy M Snr 2- Champions of Ireland, with Lord Mayor of Cork.


Andy & David, M Snr 2-

Linda & Clodagh, W Inter 2-

W Snr 4-

M Snr 4-