UCC LGFC head over the border in search of glory.

This weekend the Senior Ladies Gaelic Football team from the University travel to Kerry for the O’Connor Cup Inter Varsity. Hosted by IT Tralee, Friday and Saturday, March 11th & 12th will see the very best of Third Level action with 12 colleges competing in 3 different competitions.


UCC play in the premier O’Connor Cup and face UCD on Friday in their semi- final at 12.30pm. Holders UL play DCU in the other semi-final at 3.30pm. The final is fixed for 3pm on Saturday. All games will be played in the John Mitchel’s GAA complex.

O'Connor Cup 2016

Captained by Aine Terry O’Sullivan (Food Marketing & Entrepreneurship) from Beara and coached by Shane Ronayne, College will attempt to win back a trophy not won since 2012.

Aine Terry

Containing many of the Cork All Ireland Senior winning team from the past number of years, UCC will still face stiff competition from tournament joint favourites UCD and 3 in a row seeking UL.

Deferred coverage of the final will be shown on TG4 on Saturday @ 6pm.

O Connor Launch

The full Squad list for the competition is as follows:

  Players Name Course CAO Code County Club
1 Méabh O Sullivan Commerce CK201 Cork Mourneabbey
2 Aobha Hickey Chemistry CK406 Cork Ballincollig
3 Roisin Phelan Dentistry CK702 Cork Aghada
4 Méabh Cahalane Commerce and French CK205 Cork Éire Óg
5 Aine O’Sullivan Food Marketing and Entrepreneurship CK502 Cork Beara
6 Marie Ambrose Sports Studies&Physical Education CK116 Cork St.Vals
7 Mairead Corkery Coaching and Physical Education 1 N/A Cork St.Vals
8 Maire O’Callaghan Biological Sciences CK402 Cork Mourneabbey
9 Jennifer Barry Arts CK101 Cork Bride Rovers
10 Orlagh Farmer PHD Education N/A Cork Midleton
11 Doireann O’Sullivan Sports Studies&Physical Education CK116 Cork Mourneabbey
12 Hannah Looney Process & Chemical Engineering CK600 Cork Aghada
13 Libby Coppinger Public Health CK706 Cork Bantry Blues
14 Tessa Crowley Business Information Systems CK203 Cork Valley Rovers
15 Emma Farmer Professional Masters of Education N/A Cork Aghada
16 Jackie O’Gorman Commerce CK201 Tipperary Brian Borus
17 Eimear Meaney Speech & Language therapy CK705 Cork Mourneabbey
18 Orla Devitt Food Science CK505 Clare Éire Óg Ennis
19 Bríd Condon Speech & Language therapy CK705 Tipperary Aherlow
20 Evie Casey Public Health CK706 Cork Boherbue
21 Megan O Shea Sports Studies & Physical Education CK116 Limerick St.Brigids
22 Niamh Cotter Law (International ) CK306 Cork Beara
23 Katie O’Dea Environmental and Earth System Science CK404 Cork Dromtarriffe
24 Liz Devine Medicine CK701 Waterford Brickey Rangers
25 Saoirse Moore Social Science CK102 Cork Fermoy
26 Louise Ryan Arts (BA) CK101 Limerick St. Brigids
27 Julie Dennehy Sports Studies&Physical Education CK116 Cork Boherbue
28 Orlaith Lynch Sports Studies&Physical Education CK116 Clare The Banner
29 Orla McAuliffe Social Science CK102 Cork Boherbue
30 Eimear Scally Arts (BA) CK101 Cork Éire Óg


Copy of O CONNOR Cup Panel 2016