UCC Lacrosse compete in Dublin

The UCC men’s and women’s field lacrosse teams travelled to Dublin on Saturday to compete in the Irish Lacrosse League. The men’s team faced off against Dublin Lacrosse Club in their first match. Fielding a team with seven first year players, UCC dropped a 6-0 decision against the veteran Dublin squad. The men then played University College Dublin in their second game. Down 5-0 after the first half, UCC scored three quick goals to close the gap but eventually lost 8-3. Defenseman Burke Comeau led the way with two goals, while midfielder Thomas Miller scored one goal for UCC. “Overall we had a good weekend,” said second year player and team captain Ryan Scott. “I thought our first year players learned a lot and we’ll continue to improve throughout the year.”

The UCC women’s team picked up a pair of wins, defeating UCD and Queen’s University. They faced UCD in their first game, winning by a score of 10-7. They followed up the win by defeating Queen’s 9-2. Ryley Coleman, Megan Daly, and Madison Hazen scored goals for the women. “I’m very glad to be a part of our team and to be a part of the lacrosse players in Ireland because the girls of Dublin, Galway, and Belfast were so nice to all of us,” said Sarah Litche, first time player from Germany.

The UCC lacrosse club has attracted students from around the world, including Ireland, Canada, United States, Belgium, France, Sweden, Germany, and England. For many players, it is their first time playing the sport. Experienced players conduct training twice a week to teach and promote the skills of the game. This season is the 10th season of the Irish Lacrosse League. The UCC men compete against UCD, Dublin, and Galway for the Newtownards Cup in the autumn and the ILL Championship in the spring. Games take place at gameday events, which are hosted by different teams throughout the year. The men host a gameday in Cork on Saturday, March 2nd, while the girls play in Galway on March 2nd. Men’s team members include Miller, Comeau, Scott, Ashkan Mehjoo, Michael Dempsey, Ryan Wortman, Mitch Savoie, Garrett Bent, Shamil Debaere, Anton Göransson, Brian Molloy, Barry Lynch, and Michael L’Orange. Women’s team members include Coleman, Daly, Hazen, Litche, Lilian Horner, Priscilla Robert, Elisabetta Gretter, Aurore Dell Ova, Katharina Ostertag, Mirthe Sjoerds, and Jiayun Liu.