UCC hurlers in search of All-Ireland Glory

A very wise man once said that in order to perfect the difficult parts of any sport, you must first master the easier parts and for the past number of years that is something that the Kilkenny hurlers have done with distinction.

On this coming Sunday, September 4th, in Croke Park on the biggest day in Irish sport, Kilkenny face their greatest test when they play Tipperary in the All- Ireland Senior Hurling Final.

As always, there are connections between the University and both counties. Current students Michael Breen (Tipperary) and John Power (Kilkenny) will study for a MSC in Food Business in the coming academic year, while Tipperary

Graduates James Barry (MSC ISBP), Dan McCormack (Arts) and Michael Cahill (Sports Studies & Physical Education) all won Fitzgibbon Cup championships during their time in College.

Dan Mc

James Barry was Fresher Captain 2011 when they won the All-Ireland under a Ger Cunningham Team and won Fitzgibbon Cup medals in 2012 & 2013.

James Barry

Dan McCormack starred with Barry on the three winning teams mentioned above.

Fitzgibbon Cup Round 1 4/2/2010.
UCC vs Limerick IT.
UCC's Michael Cahill and LIT's Seamus Callinan.
Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Neil Danton

Michael Cahill was a Fitzgibbon Cup winner in 2009 while Mike Breen and Power are current Fitzgibbon players.

John Power new jpeg


Our main photo shows James Barry, Dan McCormack, Shane Bourke, Stephen Maher & Alan Hannigan with the Fitzgibbon Cup after defeating CIT in the 2012 final.