UCC award winners announced ahead of tonight’s ceremony

Tonight the River Lee Hotel hosts the annual UCC Sports Star Awards.

This event recognises 10 sportswomen and men who excelled in their chosen sport(s) during the 2015/16 season while also achieving academically.

Previous winners of this event include Ailis McSweeney (athletics), Tommy Walsh (hurling) and Paul Wallace (rugby).

Corks Eamon Ryan is our guest of honour and will present the Kieran Dowd Special Achievement Award to Susan Dwane. Susan has given sterling service to UCC Sport and the Karate club in particular as a student and a coach over the last quarter century.

The event is sponsored by the River Lee Hotel and Bank of Ireland, we thank them for their continued support of this great event. Thanks also to the Irish Examiner who are media partners for this event.

The full list of award winners is as follows:

Adrian O Sullivan – Basketball

Pamela Mackey – Camogie

Brian Begley – Gaelic Football

Marie Ambrose – Ladies Gaelic Football

Lily De la Cour – Kickboxing

Peter Coulter – Hockey

Tadgh De Burca – Hurling

Paul Kiernan – Rugby

Sean  O Mahony – Soccer

Chris Mintern – Triathlon

Our photo shows Eamon Ryan with second time winner Chris Mintern at this years Scholarship awards.