McGrath Cup Final – UCC vs Waterford

UCC will play Waterford in the McGrath Cup Final tomorrow Saturday January 24th at 6pm in Fraher Field, Dungarvan.

When – Saturday January 24th at 6pm

Where – Fraher Field, Dungarvan

Referee – Seamus Mulvihill (Ciarraí)

Extra time – (2 periods x 10 minutes only) to be played if sides finish level at the end of 70 minutes

Admission Prices –
Adults – €10
Students / OAPs – €5
Under 16s will admitted free

Contact Munster GAA PRO Ger Ryan at or 0868149146 for more information

Team News

UCC (Cork clubs unless stated): M Martin (Nemo Rangers); J Davis (Douglas), J McGuire (Listowel Emmets, Kerry), D Culhane (Ballylongford, Kerry); C Dorman (Bishopstown), S White (Clonakilty), T Clancy (Fermoy); I Maguire (St Finbarr’s), G O’Sullivan (Listry, Kerry); S Keane (Legion, Kerry), L Connolly (Nemo Rangers), É Ó Conchúir (An Ghaeltacht, Kerry); T Hickey (Castleisland Desmonds, Kerry), C Cox (Listowel Emmets, Kerry), D Harrington (Adrigole).

Subs: P McCarthy (Rathmore, Kerry), P O’Connor (Legion, Kerry), F McNamara (Austin Stacks, Kerry), B O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh), P Geaney (Dingle, Kerry), S Kiely (Ballincollig), C Horgan (Nemo Rangers), A Spillane (Templenoe, Kerry), E Dennehy (St Finbarr’s), K O’Sullivan (Kenmare Shamrocks, Kerry), K Histon (Cobh), A O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers), R Murphy (Beaufort, Kerry), K Davis (O’Donovan Rossa), P Scanlon (Glin, Kerry), F Courtney (Beaufort, Kerry), K Fulignati (Nemo Rangers), F O’Connor (Knocknagree), C Hyde (Naomh Aban), K Hayes Curtin (Douglas), P Shanahan (Carbery Rangers), S Power (Clonmel Commercials, Tipperary), P Looram (Clonmel Commercials, Tipperary).


1. Stephen Enright Ballinacourty
2. Dean Crowley St. Saviours
3. Niall Walsh Kilrossanty
4. Thomas O’Gorman (CAPT) Nire
5. Tadhg Ó hUallacháin An Rinn
6. Maurice O’Gorman Nire
7. Ray Ó Ceallaigh An Rinn
8. Shane Aherne Stradbally
9. Tommy Prendergast Kilrossanty
10. Michael Curry Rathgormack
11. Michael O’Halloran Ballinacourty
12. Patrick Hurney Ballinacourty
13. Liam Lawlor Nire
14. Gavin Nugent Rathgormack
15. Joey Veale Kilrossanty

For the Record

Waterford UCC
2014 McGrath Cup Performance Did not take part Lost to University of Limerick by 5-18 to 4-16 in the quarter final on January 5th.
Number of McGrath Cup Senior Football titles 1 0
Last McGrath Cup Senior Football Title 1981 N/A
McGrath Cup Senior Football Record since 2000 Played – 20
Won – 6
Lost – 14
Drawn – 0
Played – 17
Won – 7
Lost – 10
Drawn – 0

Fixtures and Results

Preliminary Round

Sunday January 4th

@ Carriganore                                 Waterford 1-16          UL 2-7

@ Mallow                                          Cork 7-20                   Mary Immaculate 0-4

Sunday January 11th

@ AustinStack Park Tralee            IT Tralee 4-12            Kerry 0-16

@ Rathkeale                                     UCC 4-16                  Limerick 3-9

@ Clonmel                                        Cork 1-14                   Tipperary 0-12

@ Clashmore                                   Waterford 1-11          Cork IT 0-9

Friday January 16th

@ IT Tralee                                        UCC 0-18                  IT Tralee 0-6

Sunday January 18th

@ Clashmore                                   Waterford 0-8            Cork 0-7

Final (Extra time)

Saturday January 25th

@ Fraher Field, Dungarvan                       Waterford v UCC                              @ 6pm

McGrath Cup Senior Football – Odds and Ends

Since 2000, Cork have won 20 of their 23 games (an 87% success rate, the best of any county). In the same period, Kerry’s McGrath Cup success rate is 85% with 17 wins out of 20 in the competition.

In the 8 games to date in the 2015 McGrath Cup, there has been an average of 2.9 goals per game. This compares with 4 in 2014, 2.6 in 2013, 2.4 in 2012 and 1.4 in 2011.

The last time a college reached the final was in 2010 when UCC also qualified. On that occasion they lost to Kerry by 1-11 to 0-9.

The last McGrath Cup Final which did not involve Cork or Kerry was in 2008 when Clare defeated Limerick by 1-6 to 0-8. Neither Cork or Kerry took part in the competition that year. The last McGrath Cup in which Cork and Kerry were both defeated in the early stages of the competition was in 2005. On that occasion, Tipperary accounted for Kerry in the Quarter-Final by 1-10 to 0-8 while Cork lost out in the semi-final to Limerick by 2-3 to 0-7. The 2005 McGrath Cup was won by Limerick following a 2-10 to 1-3 victory over the Cork Institute of Technology in the final.

Two counties lost to colleges teams in this year’s competition – UCC defeated Limerick and IT Tralee defeated Kerry. No college team defeated a county in 2014 but only Kerry and Cork participated. No college defeated a county team either in 2013. In 2012 IT Tralee defeated Waterford and UCC defeated Limerick.

McGrath Cup Senior Football Roll Of Honour

Clare (12) – 1982, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1990, 1991, 1994, 1995, 1997, 2000, 2002, 2008

Cork (7) – 1998, 1999, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2012, 2014

Limerick (5) – 1985, 1987, 2001, 2004, 2005

Kerry (4) – 1996, 2010, 2011, 2013

Tipperary (3) – 1989, 1993, 2003

Waterford (1) – 1981

London (1) – 1988

Visit the Munster GAA web site History section to view the complete Roll of Honour since the competition began in 1981 –

McGrath Cup

Presented by Joe McGrath on June 21st, 1981 for the promotion of Senior Football in Munster.