All Roads lead to Tralee

The final of the Munster Under 21 football championship is down for decision tonight in Tralee between Cork and Kerry with a throw in at 7.30pm. There is a huge representation of UCC students on both teams which shows the amount of young talented footballers in the University.


Out of a panel of 24 players on the Cork side, 12 of them are UCC students including the captain Stephen Cronin (Computer Science 2) from Nemo Rangers. On the Kerry side 9 are currently studying in College including Brian Begley (Commerce & Irish 1) from An Ghaeltacht.


Brian was awarded the UCC/River Lee Hotel Gaelic Football sports star of the year recently. For the record and for those who would like to know, the players involved are;


Michael McSweeney (Newcestown), Dylan Quinn (St Finbarrs), Kevin Flahive (Douglas), Kieran Histon (Cobh), Sean White (Clonakilty), Ronan O’Toole (Eire Og), Sean O’ Donoghue (Inniscarra), Ryan Harkin (Mallow), Cian Kiely (Ballincollig), Sean O’Leary (Bantry Blues), Fionan Clifford (Waterville), Dara O’Shea (Ballydonoghue), Mark O’Connor (Dingle), Jordi Kiely (Dr Crokes), Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue), Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle), Killian Spillane (Templenoe) and Michael O’Donnell (Austin Stacks).