5 UCC GAA players named on Irish International Rules Squad

UCC will have 5 representatives on the Irish team heading to Australia for the International Rules series starting on November 12th.

Sean Powter, Paul Geaney, Paul Murphy, Peter Crowley & Conor Sweeney have all been named as part of a 21-strong panel captained by Mayo’s Aidan O’Shea.

Both games against an AFL selection will take place next month and will be shown live on RTÉ, highlights will also be broadcast in the evening.

The first game will take place on Sunday, 12 November at the Adelaide Oval at 5am Irish time.


Ireland 2017 International Rules Squad

Niall Morgan (Tyrone)

Chris Barrett (Mayo)

Gary Brennan (Clare)

Eoin Cadogan (Cork)

Killian Clarke (Cavan)

Peter Crowley (Kerry)

Kevin Feely (Kildare)

Paul Geaney (Kerry)

Pearce Hanley (Mayo)

Brendan Harrison (Mayo)

Conor Mc Manus (Monaghan)

Michael Murphy (Donegal)

Niall Murphy (Sligo)

Paul Murphy (Kerry)

Karl O’Connell (Monaghan)

Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)

Niall Sludden (Tyrone)

Enda Smith (Roscommon)

Conor Sweeney (Tipperary)

Zach Tuohy (Laois)

Shane Walsh (Galway)

Stand-by Players

Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone)

Niall Grimley (Armagh)

Connaire Harrison (Down)

Caolan Mooney (Down)

Sean Murphy (Carlow)

Brendan Murphy (Carlow)

Sean Powter (Cork)